Reordering, Editing, and Deleting Rules

Along with the power to create rules that support and help your workflow, you have the ability to reorder, edit, and delete rules as needed. 

In planning and adding your rules, keep in mind that the order of rules is important. Rules are followed in a top down manner. If a later rule conflicts with a rule earlier in the progression, the later rule overrides the previous rule. 

For example: if the first rule in your list maps all orders with a "Billing Country" of "CA" to be sent "FedEx- Intl Priority", but a later rule in your list maps ALL orders to be sent "FedEx - Ground", all orders will be sent "FedEx - Ground" regardless of their "Billing Country". The order of these rules should be reversed with the more specific rule coming later. 

As a basic rule of thumb, the more general a rule, the higher it should be on your list of rules. The more specific a rule, the lower is should be on your list. 

To REORDER rules:

1. Start by collapsing all rules by clicking on the two-directional triangles in the upper left of any rule.



2. Now that all rules are collapsed, maneuver your mouse over the two-directional triangles until your pointer changes to the closed hand icon(). Left click the rule you would like to move and drag it to its new location in the order.



Once your rule is in place, you are done. DropStream automatically saves the new order.  

To EDIT rules:

From the Reordering Rules section, if the rules are already collapsed, click on the down arrow icon (  )
in the upper right of the rule you wish to see.


 

1. Start by clicking Edit Rule for the rule you wish to change.



2. There are several fields that you can edit. Once you have made your desired changes, click Save changes and your edits will be saved.

To DELETE rules:

1. From the rules list, select the rule you wish to delete by clicking Edit Rule.



2. Once you have clicked Edit Rule for the rule you wish to delete, you will be taken to the Edit page for that specific rule. From here, you can click Delete rule to delete that rule. 



3. You will be prompted by DropStream to confirm that you do wish to delete the selected rule. Once the rule is deleted, it is not retrievable.